Community Foundation of West Texas Award over $40,000 in Teacher Grants

The Community Foundation of West Texas is pleased to announce the awarding of Mini-Grants for Teachers totaling over $40,000.00 to forty-nine South Plains Area elementary and secondary school teachers for the implementation of creative classroom projects during the 2019 – 2020 school year. Of this amount, $4,687.73 will go to Hockley County area teachers. These projects will provide exceptional educational opportunities for more than 6,000 students. Mini-Grants for Teachers is a program that recognizes the commitment of great teachers and
awards grants of up to $1,500 for innovative classroom projects that will enrich their curriculum.

This is the twenty-first year of the program. All K-12 teachers who teach in an accredited school within the South Plains area are eligible to apply in June of each year. Funding for the 2019 mini grants cycle was provided by the South Plains Foundation, Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Dr. Lou Diekemper, the Rushing Endowment, the Bigham Fund, the Odyssey Endowment, the Larry & Marry Franklin Endowment, and an anonymous donor.

Since 1998, the Mini-Grants for Teachers program has awarded 651 grants to 637 teachers in 123 schools in 19 school districts. Mini-Grants totaling over $440,000 have provided enriching academic experiences for thousands of
students and have provided a means for recognizing and rewarding the efforts of outstanding teachers in the South Plains region.

In addition to offering assistance to teachers through the Mini-Grants for Teachers Program, the Community Foundation of West Texas currently administers three hundred and four (304) funds with assets exceeding $48 million. Hundreds of grants and scholarships are awarded each year to address community needs in the areas of education, social services, health and human services, arts and culture, and civic and community. The Community Foundation of West Texas exists to help people who care about the Lubbock and the South Plains area to invest – at
any level – in its future.

The following Hockley County area schools and teachers received Mini Grants for the 2019 school year:

Capitol Elementary-Shawn Pebsworth for “Classroom Library Enhancement”
Capitol Elementary-Amy Pebsworth for “Classroom Library Enhancement”
Levelland Middle School-Charla Cogdill for “Visualizing the Spectrum”Levelland Middle School-Ashley Davis for “Science in Action”
South Elementary School-Christi Peck for “Engaging Classroom Library”

The Community Foundation of West Texas has four affiliates and the Hockley County Endowment is one. This Endowment was created in 2006 and gives the people of Hockley County the opportunity to build a pool of permanent resources exclusively for the benefit of their communities.

About KLVT News

News Director for KLVT AM 1230 in Levelland. We provide local and regional news updates 5 times a day on KLVT AM 1230 and online at
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s